JNVST 2013 – Jawahar Navodaya Vidyalya Selection Test

JNVST 2013

JNVST 2013 –  Selection Test for admission to Class-VI in JNVs for the academic session 2013-14 will be held On Sunday 9th June, 2013  9.30 A.M.

In accordance with the National Policy of Education (1986) Government of India started Jawahar Navodaya Vidyalayas (JNVs). Presently the JNVs are spread in 27 States and 7 Union Territories. These are co-educational residential schools fully financed and administered by Government of India through an autonomous organization, Navodaya Vidyalaya Samiti. Admissions in JNVs are made through the JAWAHAR NAVODAYA VIDYALAYA SELECTION TEST (JNVST) at Class VI. The medium of instruction in JNVs is the mother tongue or regional language up to Class VIII and English thereafter for Maths and Science and Hindi for Social Science. Students of the JNVs appear for X and XII class examinations of the Central Board of Secondary Education. While education in the schools is free including boarding, lodging, uniforms and textbooks, a nominal fee of Rs.200/- per month will have to be paid by the children from IX to XII class. However, children belonging to SC/ST, Girls and Physically Handicapped and from the families whose income is below poverty line are exempted from payment of fees.

Objective of the Scheme

  • To provide good quality modern education including a strong component of culture, inculcation of values, awareness of the environment, adventure activities and physical education to the talented children predominantly from rural areas.
  • To ensure that students attain a reasonable level of competency in three languages.
  • To promote national integration through migration of students from Hindi to non-Hindi speaking State and vise-versa.
  • To serve in each district as focal point for improvement of quality of school education in general through sharing of experiences and facilities.

State-wise Distribution of Jawahar Navodaya Vidyalayas

Accordingly to the Navodaya Vidyalaya Scheme, one Jawahar Navodaya Vidyalaya is to be set up in each District in a phased manner. At present, there are 595 (576+19**) Vidyalayas are sanctioned in 27 States and 7 Union Territories out of which 583(567+16) are functioning. The State-wise distribution of JNVs is as under:

Andhra Pradesh 22+2 Kerala 14
Assam 27+1 Lakshadweep 01
Arunachal Pradesh 16 Madhya Pradesh 48+2
Andaman & Nicobar Islands 02 Maharashtra 32+1
Bihar 38+1 Manipur 09
Chandigarh 01 Meghalaya 07+1
Chattisgarh 16+1 Mizoram 08
Delhi 02 Nagaland 11
Daman & Diu 02 Orissa 30+1
Dadra & Nagar Haveli 01 Punjab 20+1
Goa 02 Pondicherry 04
Gujarat 25+1 Rajasthan 32+2
Haryana 20 Sikkim 04
Himachal Pradesh 12 Tripura 04
Jammu & Kashmir 17+1 Uttar Pradesh 70
Jharkhand 22+2 Uttaranchal 13
Karnataka 27+1 West Bengal 17+1



** Additional JNVs sanctioned for the Districts having large concentration of SC/ST population.

A maximum of eighty students are admitted in Class VI in each Vidyalaya, through a Selection Test subject to availability of suitable candidates. The Samiti reserves the right to reduce the seats to forty or to withhold result and/or withhold admission and/or conduct of JNVST 2013 in case adequate accommodation is not available.

Jawahar Navodaya Vidyalaya Selection Test  2013

JNV Selection Test for admission to Class-VI in JNVs for the academic session 2013-14 will be held as per following schedule.  The last   date   for submission   of   Application   Form   in   BEO’s Office is  01-10-2012 (Monday).

On Sunday, the  10th February, 2013 at 9.30 A.M. in the State of Andhra  Pradesh, Assam, Bihar, West Bengal (except Darjeeling) Chhattisgarh, Goa, Gujarat, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh (except Chamba, Kinnaur, Mandi, Sirmour, Kullu, Lahaul & Spiti and Shimla Districts), Jharkhand, Kerala, Karnataka, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Manipur, Orissa, Punjab, Rajasthan, Tripura, Uttar Pradesh, Uttaranchal, Delhi, Arunachal Pradesh (except Tawang District), Union Territories of Andaman & Nicobar Islands, Chandigarh, Dadar & Nagar Haveli, Daman & Diu, Lakshadweep and Pondicherry .

On Saturday 13th April, 2013 9.30 A.M. in the States of Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Sikkim ,Jammu and Kashmir (except Leh & Kargil)  and in the District of Tawang of Arunachal Pradesh, in the Districts of Chamba, Sirmour, Kullu, Kinnaur, Mandi, Shimla of Himachal Pradesh, in the District of Darjeeling of West Bengal.

JNVST 2013:On Sunday 9th June, 2013  9.30 A.M. in the Districts of Leh, Kargil of J&K State and in the District of Lahaul & Spiti of Himachal Pradesh State.

Stay Updated!

Get all updates and information in your Inbox. Enter your email below: